Mondays Local Mum Zoe Jack

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s East:

I originally arrived in Perth from England in 1978. I moved to Sydney’s East in 2000 to work for the Olympics. My partner; Chris and I rented several houses. We started in Macpherson St Waverley, then moved around the corner to Albion St units. When I was 8 months pregnant we moved again… as one does! to a little cottage in Santa Marina Ave, Waverley. Each time we were seen trolleying our fridge and washing machine along pavements between rentals. Our last rental was in Gordon Place, behind Clovelly School.

When I fell pregnant again we decided to buy a home and in 2007 we moved into a wonderful cul-de-sac in South Maroubra and have been here just over 11 years.

How many children:

We have two children; Grace whose almost 16 and Bodhi who turned 11 a few months ago. In January 2018 we got our first fur baby; Ooni, a Beagle x King Charles Spaniel puppy.

Favourite Park:

As a Maroubra Girl, I love Arthur Byrne Reserve as it always has so much life going on, yet you can still find space to be still and quiet. Also I enjoy Wark St “Off Leash” park in Pagewood. It’s a fabulous dog area and the people (and dogs) that go regularly are a supportive community.

Favourite Beach:

I love sitting at Maroubra Beach watching life go past. I’ve seen many a whale and pod of dolphins. My favourite swimming hole is Malabar Pool. It reminds me of little coves in Cornwall where I grew up as a child.

Favourite kid friendly café:

I have a soft spot for North End Café. Great food, chilled atmosphere and space for kids. They also occasionally do Friday night live music which is a good night out and kids eat free on a Friday night too.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Chalk Café on McKeon St Maroubra is great. Lively, friendly, great coffee and discounts if you bring a keep cup; so environmentally conscious too.

Favourite date night place:

Chris and I enjoy going to The Bay Hotel on Maroubra Beach. I feel comfortable there. It’s got good food, great staff, good music and there’s always a lively crowd to strike up a chat with. It has become our local and we feel a part of it and its only a short walk home after a bevvy or two!

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Although we can’t take Ooni; we like doing the coastal walk around Malabar Headland which can often result in hanging at Maroubra Beach for swims and brunch.

Favourite Local Shop:

Given I am a Kinesiologist, I love going to Perfect Potion in Bondi Junction to smell their wares and find products for my clinic. Closer to home I enjoy fossicking in Hamblins on McKeon Street.

Favourite wet weather location:

I actually have two; I enjoy going to The Collaborative Yoga Studio for a class when a storm rolls in off the ocean. But likewise, I enjoy snuggling down with Chris and the kids at home to watch a movie.

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s Eastern suburbs for you?

If we’re not doing kid’s sport, we shoot off to an early yoga class followed by a swim and then coffee at the beach doing the Quick Quiz. There are usually two walks for Ooni in there somewhere then a chilled wine on our balcony at sunset.

What area of the East have you yet to explore much but would like to?

I’d like to explore Karnay National Park around La Perouse more. It’s full of our indigenous culture and history as well as spectacular views of the ocean against the National Park’s backdrop. Camping at the Royal National Park comes a close second.

Work or SAHM?

I’m a working mum but do most of my work in my homebased clinic; Zode Kinesiology. It’s here that I work with families and individuals to support them to find balance and health in their lives. Working with kids and adults on physical, emotional, mental and energetic levels is my passion as I can see the changes that are possible.

It’s wonderful knowing that everyone has the capacity to shift pain or stress from our lives with a little guidance and nurturing. If you’re interested to know more look at I also work a few days at Women in Focus Physio in Bondi Junction.

Zoe Jack
0414 566 456