Mondays Local Mum Ruth Waters

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

I’ve lived in the Eastern Suburbs for two and a half years. I moved here from the UK, with my husband and then two-year-old and three-month-old baby. I remember the day we arrived. We literally dropped our bags off at the Airbnb and ran down to Coogee beach. It was a pretty awesome welcome.

How many children:

Two kids. Five-year-old Sam and three-year-old Poppy.

Favourite Park:

Oh there are so many to choose from. My favourites are usually with a sea view! Christison Park in Vaucluse, by the lighthouse, is a winner.

Favourite Beach:

I really like Maroubra for the big waves – not to surf (I’m actually a bit scared of swimming in the sea) but to watch. And only last week I discovered the kid-friendly section of the beach, at the far south end.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

As with most kids, my children can’t sit still for long so usually it’s a quick drink and then we’re off – so, for this reason, either the Shed at Queens Park or the Shed in Randwick (the chalk and blackboard tables usually occupy them for the length of a babycino).

Favourite Coffee Spot:

For the view, Coogee Pavilion.

Favourite date night place:

These are pretty rare and when they do happen we usually nip somewhere local. Most recently we had awesome meals at Sugar Cane and Little Kitchen, both in Coogee.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Beach, then playground. Followed by more beach and more playground. Bronte beach, Rose Bay, Parsley Bay all happily meet these requirements!

Favourite Local Shop:

Can I say Kmart? No. Okay. In that case, I really like Live This in the Spot, Randwick, and the bookshop Berkelouw in Rose Bay.

Favourite wet weather location:

I actually quite like being out in the rain (must be my British roots) but if it’s proper heavy rain then Randwick library is always a good fix or at home, usually doing science with my kids (this basically involves mixing anything in the kitchen cupboard with food colouring and making an almighty mess).

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

Early morning jog from Coogee to Clovelly. Coffee at a local café. Walk from Coogee to Bondi. Sit on the beach for a bit. Cocktail at icebergs. With kids – a day at any of the local beaches or bays.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

The many gorgeous restaurants and cafes, which are sadly out of reach until the kids get a bit bigger!

Work or SAHM:

I work as an illustrator from home – creating greeting cards and art prints.

This month also sees the release of my first children’s picture book, Not So Scary Bear. The illustrations are all handmade using collage, a lot of glue and a lot of mess. It’s a story aimed at 2-year-olds and up, and is about friendship and being brave enough to be yourself, whether you’re scary or not. It’s available from all good bookshops, is currently available online, of course, you can request a copy from your local library.

Watch the book trailer to find out more.




Motherly advice:

Don’t listen to too much advice! Go with your gut. Do your best. Not every day is perfect but overall I’m sure you’re doing an awesome job.