Hi, my name is Laura.  I was born and have lived in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney my whole life.  

My husband and I have been married for 8 years and have two beautiful children together.

In my spare time, I love to go for walks and to the beach.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s East?

I have lived in the Eastern Suburbs my whole life.  I grew up in Coogee and lived there until I was 30.  I then moved to Randwick briefly with my Sister and now my family home is in Kensington.

Three words that describe what it is like to live in the Eastern Suburbs?

Fun, lively, beachy

How many children?

I have two children.  My son is 6 years old and my daughter is 5 years old.  


Favourite park?

My kids love going to Inglis Park at Randwick.  It is great for all ages, but especially for the older kids.  My Son loves the climbing and big slide.

Favourite beach?

You can’t really go wrong with any of the beaches around here.  I will always have a soft spot for Coogee Beach having spent most of my younger years there.  

With kids, I would have to say our favourite beach is Yarra Bay.  We are always guaranteed to run into some friends whenever we go there and because there aren’t any waves you don’t have to be on top of the kids as much.

Favourite kid friendly café?

A visit to a café is pretty quick with two active kids.  Sometimes we venture down to Jack’s Café in Kensington for some banana bread and a milkshake.

Favourite coffee spot?

Coogee Courtyard has become one of my favourite coffee spots.  They coffee is always good and so is the food.

It has become a regular meeting place after school drop off.

Favourite date night place?

It has been a very long time since we have gone out for a date night.  My husband and I are simple when it comes to going out – we would probably opt for somewhere with live music or a good cover band given the choice.  

I am yet to try Sugar Cane at Coogee so that is on my list of places to go.

Where in the East are you yet to explore and would like to?

Funnily enough, we have never taken the kids to Bondi Beach for a swim as it always seems ‘too hard’.  It is such a beautiful beach and I always think to myself “we need to get down there one day” but we tend to just go somewhere that is easy.

What would you like to see improve in the Eastern Suburbs?

It would be great if there were more family friendly places like Coogee Beach Club where you are able to catch up with friends with an area where the kids can run around and play.

Favourite local shop?

I like to go for a browse at Cargo, Coogee Surf Shop, By San Sebastian.

Favourite wet weather location?

Strike Bowling at the Entertainment Quarter is our go to on a rainy day, but failing that, it is always nice to relax at home and watch a movie or play board games.

Favourite local family weekend activity?

We love Summer and going to the beach/pool. 

My perfect day would involve getting down to Yarra Bay early in the morning and setting up for the day.  The kids love playing in the water and getting some hot chips and an ice cream when they spot the snack boat coming around.

Work or SAHM?

I am currently working part-time, 3 days per week.  I was fortunate enough to be able to take some time away from work when both my kids were little to be a SAHM.  I am so greatful for that time.  It is the hardest, but most rewarding job in the world.

Motherly advice?

Enjoy every single minute of them being little.  Time goes way too quick!  Put the phone down and cherish every single cuddle and kiss.