Hi, my name is Kelly and I was born, and have lived in the East my entire life. I work in the Travel Industry, and have done so for almost 20 years. My job has given me the opportunity to have travelled to so many parts of the world, however Sydney’s Eastern Suburbs will always be home. I am married to a local school teacher, who also grew up in the East, in South Coogee. We have been married 13 years and have 2 beautiful and active kids, my daughter aged 10 and my son aged 7 who keep us on our toes between school, sport and just being the 2 crazy kids they are.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east? I have lived in Sydney’s East my entire life. Both my parents were also born and raised in the East. Both Mum and Dad grew up in Maroubra and when they met and got married they bought a house in Mascot which is where my brother and I were raised. I lived there until my husband and I were engaged, which is when we moved to Kensington for about 6 years. After my daughter was born, we had to upgrade our unit for a bigger space so we moved to Eastlakes which is where we now live.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Busy, Lively, Home

How many children?

My husband and I have 2 children, my daughter is 10 and my son is 7. 

Favourite Park:

As my kids are a bit older we tend to visit skate parks rather than normal parks. We take them to Mutch, Maroubra and Sydney skate parks. When they were little kids I used to take them to L’Estrange, Maroubra beach, and pretty much any park we could find in the area to keep them entertained. I did take them to Inglis Park, Newmarket near Prince of Wales Hospital the other week which they loved!!! My vertigo kicked into gear as I watched them climb up the nets, but they had a ball….it was pretty awesome. I even saw some adults having a go.

Favourite Beach: 

Maroubra Beach for sure!! I grew up going to Maroubra beach on hot sunny days. My husband has been (and still is) a local surfer at the beach since he was young so we are there pretty much every weekend and any sunny day where the surf conditions are good. It’s an amazing beach which is super family friendly with great cafes and shops. There are waves for the surfers and the rock pool for the little ones for when the surf is too big. My kids have been learning to surf there with my husband and they love it. When we are not surfing and just want to swim, we love swimming at Frenchmans at La Perouse or at Coogee Beach outdoor pool.  

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

My kids are a bit older so most cafes are family friendly for us. 

Favourite Coffee Spot: 

Bogota Coffee shop in Eastlakes is our local, they do awesome coffee and are super friendly. When we are at the beach we always go to Marini Café on the corner, super nice coffee. Mascot Corner Cafe is also a go to. 

Favourite date night place: 

Normally we go into the city for date night and we try a different place each time. However recently we had a date night at The Boatshed and had the seafood platter which was absolutely delish. We had wine at Yarra Bay Sailing club first, then walked the short coastal walk to the Boatshed for our seafood platter. Was a really nice night.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to ? 

I’m yet to do the Maroubra to Malabar walk, which is strange because I love a good walk. I’ll have to try to tick that one off the list this school holidays and bribe the kids not to whinge the whole way when we go.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs? 

Parking at the beach is becoming diabolical. I think something needs to be done to alleviate all the congestion. Also more skateparks suited to mid aged kids (like mine). They love to skate but the current skate parks have a mix of toddlers on scooters to adults who are experts. It can be really dangerous. Maybe more ‘pump tracks’ similar to the one they had at South Maroubra Car Park in the winter for the younger skaters.

Favourite Local Shop: I don’t really have one as I don’t do a huge amount of shopping, apart from groceries. A local business I do need to try is Archie Rose Distilling Co. I have heard some great things about them and I have a voucher for their distillery tour which I am looking forward to trying out. 

Favourite wet weather location:

My kids are water babies so an indoor pool for us is the go too. We were taking them to Des Renford which is a great Centre but recently discovered Gunyama which is amazing! Great indoor facilities and when it’s sunny the outdoor area is awesome. Also a go is Manhattan Bowling. 

As much as I would love to say the Movies, my kids won’t sit through one without complaining so that’s out for us

Work or SAHM?

I have been working full time since my son was 9 months old so I am used to being busy. Thankfully I am lucky enough to have awesome parents who live close by and have helped massively, a supportive husband and a great family network that has allowed me to do that. We also are fortunate enough for our kids to have awesome friends who, in turn, have allowed us to connect with an amazing bunch of parents who help each other out and have a good time together. 

Motherly advice?

This is so cliché – but IT DOES GO FAST…take as many pictures as possible. We used to make fun of my Mum because she always had her camera out…but she has so many memories (and that was very much before smartphones). Take as many photos of amazing memories as you can, because when your brain can’t remember them, going through all your photos will remind you of all your amazing adventures. We love putting old photos on the TV and reminiscing about great holidays and good times…. cherish is it all