Jennifer Stacy

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

We have lived close to Fiveways in Paddington since finding out we were pregnant with our first daughter Jemima in 2011. We only made a short move over from Elizabeth Bay where we had been living since 2006.

How many children:

Three perfect angel children! Jemima who is 6 and has just finished her first year at Glenmore Road Public, our Matilda (aka Tildasaurus – grr!) is 3 and starting at Peter Pan preschool next year and baby Henry who is 21 months and already in a size 3 – our first real bruiser in the playground!

jennifer-sydney-speech

Favourite Park:

Hands down Queens Park. The kids love the playground, we love the security of the gated playground to keep them in while we grab our coffee and any other treat at the cafe who do a great long black.

Favourite Beach:

Recently, Bronte Beach. We aren’t really beach people my husband and I, if I’m honest. The sand, suncream and fear of small running children near large bodies of water, hmmmm. However being a parent does come with its responsibilities to equip our young with skills for safety. With that in mind we commenced nippers for the 2017/2018 season at Bronte Beach as some friends of ours were already doing it there. Outcome, quiet unexpectedly, converted! Love it! Every Sunday morning we are down there in the thick of it and love every minute. I have even signed up to do my bronze medallion! Shock to us all 😉

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Hard to pick a winner between Bills on Bondi Beach with its friendly staff and kids colouring or Coogee Bay Pavilion with its awesome kids play area and movie time in the cubby house?…! Ill let you decide.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Flatwhite in Woollahra. I only ever drink a long black these days but when I did drink coffee with milk it was difficult to find the consistent good ones. But I can confidently say I have never had a ‘miss’ coffee at Flatwhite.

Favourite date night place:

Bistro Moncur when we’re feeling fancy or Love Supreme for the lower key spontaneous eat out. We like to be walking distance in case we’re needed elsewhere – and it’s happened, maybe once…?

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

During last year we would drop Jemima off to kindy and head to Rushcutters Park where the small ones could run around safely contained in the gated play group. Another good coffee spot – and in the warmer weather their iced coffee is no.1 in our opinion!

Favourite Local Shop:

LOVE Cook and Baker on Oxford Street for a delicious baked good (best croissants in Sydney!) or sandwich. Conveniently located directly across the road from Aboutlife to pick up any last minute groceries.

Favourite wet weather location:

Coogee Bay Pavilion is where we go when it’s raining on the weekend, or the old faithful – Paddington Library next to the Paddington Town Hall on Oxford Street. We go at least once a week after school because my husband loved libraries when he was young and wanted the kids to have the same experience.

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

The Darling Point to Watson’s Bay ferry ride in the warmer months. There is nothing like fresh sea air to resent the mind and open the imagination for smaller minds. Once there we love some fish and chips from the kiosk and there is the beach or playground to choose from. Plenty of shade from the trees and water to splash in to cool down.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

I would like to explore the walks beyond the bondi to coogee. I hear there are bush walks that are on the coast line – but I think we’ll have to wait until my smallest is independently walking longer distances…? When we venture beyond the eastern suburbs we head to the blue mountains for bush walks so it would be nice to explore a similar environment closer to home.

Work or SAHM:

Part time both. I run a speech pathology practice in Woollahra servicing the whole eastern suburbs. Mainly home visits for people with neurological conditions and aged care.

My team at Sydney Adult Speech Pathology has grown over the years and the current staff are all part time mums. I also work at Wolper Hospital running a neurological day rehabilitation program 4 mornings a week.

With Jemima now going into year 1 and Matilda starting at Peter Pan 3 days I get to spend quality time each afternoon parenting my first son through 2018. It’s a lovely work/home/life balance going into 2018.

Motherly advice :

Perversely, it gets easier the more you have!. Enjoy the learning and don’t be afraid of doing things right or wrong. For us, parenting is now all about enjoying each moment.

Have any concerns about a loved one’s speech? Sydney Speech Pathology is offering a FREE 45min initial speech, voice or language assessment at their Woollahra offices (*report not included)

QUOTE: Eastern Suburbs Mums at time of booking 02 9380 4804

http://sydneyspeechpathology.com/