Bec Page

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

My whole life! I grew up in Double Bay, spent some time living in the UK, and lived in Armidale for uni and my first ‘professional’ job at the local paper as a reporter. I lived in Waverley for a while with my husband and we moved to Botany three years ago and fell in love with it straight away. It’s true that it’s like a country town with a really tight-knit, supportive community.

How many children:

Just one for now – Jack is one and a half and has the energy of five kids. Hopefully if we are lucky enough to have more they’ll be a bit more chilled…! I don’t like my chances.


Favourite Park:

Booralee Park in Botany is our extended backyard. It’s got two playgrounds for Jack, plenty of open space for Bandit our adopted greyhound to zoom around, and barbecues for get-togethers. I also do group training with a lovely group of locals there with OutX, the pool is very close and Botany Buzz overlooks the park for great coffee. Who needs to leave the suburb when you have all that in your backyard?

Favourite Beach:

Yarra Bay is a slice of paradise only 10 minutes away, but it feels like we’re down the coast. I really hope we can keep it quiet and pristine and they don’t put the proposed cruise ship terminal there, it would be heartbreaking.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

It used to be Botany Buzz but Jack thinks he’s bigger and better than the playpen now. The Beach House at Maroubra is great for busy toddlers with its play area but enclosed park playgrounds and a takeaway coffee are more realistic these days.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

DeLuca coffee at Banksmeadow has incredible coffee, as does Biks on Botany Road. But if I’m on my own I get one from the Grumpy Baker at Maroubra and watch the ocean for a while, that’s such a treat.

Favourite date night place:

Without a doubt Capanno’s restaurant in Botany – you’d walk straight past it not knowing what’s inside if a local didn’t tell you. I’m a bit hesitant to share the secret but the rustic Italian style food is absolutely divine, I always end up going the full hog and getting three courses, and the staff really make you feel like you’re part of their family.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

A day at one of the local bay beaches with the family in summer – even better if we sneak the dog down if no else one is there, she absolutely loves sprinting on the sand and Jack thinks it’s so hilarious to watch. A few beers in the Sir Joseph Banks Hotel beer garden to end the day would make it very ideal!

Favourite Local Shop:

One of the best things about living in the south of the east is the access to wholesale food outlets. Seafood from the One that Got Away at Marrickville on market days is incredible – especially when they let you taste the prawns before buying them. Same goes for Havericks Meats and their mouth watering restaurant quality wagyu, and I could eat Brasserie Bread’s sourdough for breakfast lunch and dinner. Actually, I have!

Favourite wet weather location:

Home! I don’t have to worry about parking or everyone else wanting to be there!

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

It would definitely involve some outdoor exercise to clear the mind, a day on the beach and a long lunch, but without the crowds. Bondi RSL has the best RSL view in Australia and I’d prefer a casual pub style afternoon rather than a fancy restaurant, but I’d pick a day in early January when it’s a bit quieter. Alternatively, a day at Randwick Races with my husband never fails.


What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

To be honest I feel like I know the east from the north to the south pretty well, having lived across the area my whole life. We’re lucky that we have so many great places to eat and drink so I’ll just keep exploring those!

Work or SAHM:

I’m a media advisor by day but my ‘side hustle’ is my sewing business, called Bandit&Jack. When Jack was a newborn I was sick of nappies and wipes getting lost in my mum bag so I made a nappy wallet, then made some for friends and then started selling them. I also sew baby and toddler bibs, school library bags and seasonal items like Christmas decorations. I have a lot of fun making them and only pick fabrics that make me smile, so I’d like to think they make the parents who use them smile as well.

Plus, it’s so lovely to have something locally handmade with love. I get such a kick out of seeing my nappy wallets in the prams of strangers!

Motherly advice:

I have SO MUCH advice on what I think is right, but I learned pretty early on that all of that advice is only the right advice for me. So, my advice is that as long as it’s safe, every choice you make is the right choice for you, and let that drown out any external (or internal) pressure.


Offer: 50% of all profits from Eastern Suburbs Mums sales will go to the Pink Elephants Support Network

You can order via Facebook or Instagram