Camilla Goucher

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

We recently moved to Rose Bay from Woollahra. We have been in Sydney for about five years.

We have also lived in Melbourne and Brisbane. Sydney is our favourite (if we can say that?!) the harbour, the beaches and the (nearly) perfect weather are hard to beat. We love our life here!

The downside is we are far away from our families as they are interstate and overseas. Something we notice increasingly more now we are parents.

How many children:

One wonderful daughter, Isla (1 year old).

Favourite Park:

Lyne Park, Rose Bay. Lots of fun play equipment for a toddler to enjoy.

Favourite Beach:

Neilson Park. The water is pristine and it has a great combination of grass, shade and beach so it works well for a family.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Shuk, North Bondi. Love that it has a garden out the back full of toys.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Luxe, Woollahra.

Favourite date night place:

Ummm date night? We wish! Chiswick is always a winner, when we get the chance…

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

The beach is always a favourite or, if we are looking for a change, Nubo in Alexandria is such an appealing and engaging play space

Favourite Local Shop:

Red Rocket Toys in Rose Bay, they always seem to have new things to tempt us and the service is lovely.

Favourite wet weather location:

Coogee Pavilion. The atmosphere is so upbeat, buzzing and full of energy it can really lift your spirits on a wet day.

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

Well, we are early birds thanks to Isla so we love to kick off the weekend with an early morning swim in the ocean and then have breakfast by the beach, after that perhaps meet friends for a BBQ and spend the afternoon in Centennial Park or playing tennis at Cooper Park.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

We have never made it to Little Bay, we have tried unsuccessfully (prams plus stairs = no go). One day…

Work or SAHM:

Combo? Right now, I am a Work-At-Home-Mum-When-Baby-Is-Sleeping! So I guess that makes me a WAHMWBIS…?! Or just plain knackered!

My husband and I are currently setting up a social enterprise called The Wonder Hub which offers co-working spaces with onsite creches run from community venues such as libraries. It is designed to help new parents get stuff done, whether it is work, study or just life admin.

We had the idea when I was actually looking at setting up an entirely different business and I was finding it hard to juggle working at home with Isla. I felt that Isla was missing out on her play dates and social interaction and it was hard for me to work in the evenings at the end of a long day when Isla was asleep.

The first Wonder Hub is starting on May 9th 2017 at Woollahra Library in Double Bay on Tuesday mornings from 9.30 am – 1 pm. If you are interested to join please visit

We can’t wait for it to launch so we can use it ourselves! We often joke that we needed The Wonder Hub to launch the The Wonder Hub.

Motherly advice:

Oooh ask me in 17 years time? It’s too early to know whether I am doing it right yet! I will say though, I enjoy mothering with my heart and not my head – it feels much better this way!


———————————- SPECIAL OFFER!———————————-

Early Bird Passes to The Wonder Hub, Double Bay are available now!

The cost is $300 for 6 x 3.5 hour Wonder Sessions (includes co-working and creche). Which works out to be $50 per session. Much cheaper than a babysitter
(especially when you factor in there is no travel time for pick up and drop off) and a whole lot more fun! Sign up HERE!

Please help us spread the word by sharing this post with your friends and tagging people you think may be interested, we really would appreciate your help
to get this idea off the ground