Hey, I’m Barbara Halket, I am a mum to two gorgeous busy boys, I’m a wife and a fur mum to a beautiful rescue dog and an interior designer.

I was born and raised in Belgium, but while 9 years ago, I was supposed to stay for a 3month trip, I fell in love with Australia and a few years after I became Australian. 

After the birth of my first son, I’ve decided to create my own business as an interior designer. I focus on helping families to upgrade their interior and help them to find functional solutions for their daily life while making sure it’s beautiful.

Some do one room at a time and others prefer designing their entire home at once. I love working on both!

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I moved to Maroubra 9 years ago, I met my husband in Coogee and we recently moved to Little Bay.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Gorgeous, Family-friendly, Busy

How many children?

I have two boys. They’re turning 2&5 years old in March.

Favourite Park?

We love Centennial Park especially the Ian Potter’s Garden. 

Favourite Beach?

As a family, we love Camp Cove Beach in Watson’s bay but Little Bay Beach is starting to become my favourite one too. Maroubra beach has a huge place in my heart thought.

Favourite kids friendly cafe?

The Ground floor at the back of the Coogee pavilion on a sunny weekday, otherwise it’s too busy.

Favourite Coffee Spot?

“Marini’s“ in Maroubra Beach

Favourite date night place?

“O bar and Dining”, when we have a big celebration otherwise “I Maccheroni” in Woollahra is lovely.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to go?

I love exploring every single back street, looking at houses and I keep discovering secret gems every day, so let’s say everywhere in the east.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

It would be nice to see the east becoming a bit more bicycle friendly. But no idea how this could happen.

Favourite Local Shop?

I love Label Baguette in Maroubra, they make their own baguette on site and they’re the best! And I love “If the Florist” in Maroubra Beach, I absolutely love being in their shop.

Favourite wet weather location?

Our car. We love parking with our boot opened, facing the ocean and having a picnic in the car. 

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

It’s simple and probably not original but we love going to the beach. My eldest and I are really beach people. 

Work or SAHM?

SAHWM – I Work mostly from home.

Motherly advice?

Make your life easier, don’t put any extra pressure on you, trust your instinct and listen to your gut, you know your kids better than anyone else. Take a deep breath, have a glass of vino and enjoy the ride, it won’t last forever.

Website: https://barbarahalket.com/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/barbara.halket.interiors/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Barbara.Halket.interiors