Every Monday night we feature a local eastern suburb mum.  

This week meet Anita Birges from Maroubra and hear about her life and top tips for living in Sydney’s east


Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

I have lived in the Eastern suburbs all my life. I grew up in Bondi and spent most of my years there, apart from a 4 year stint in Montreal, Canada. I
currently now live in Maroubra.

How many children:

I have a 4.5 year old boy named Joshua and 2.5 year old girl named Talia. They are both born in March and my birthday is in June! You do the math……..
They are my birthday presents:)

Favourite Park:

Our absolute fave is Heffron bike park and Heffron playground in Maroubra. With the two kids being quite different in age, ability and in what they prefer
doing, it gives us options in a very close proximity to each other.

Favourite Beach: 

Parsley Bay has a serenity about it. I love that grass is flat and can be played on easily and that you might see a penguin or too swimming in the bay.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Queens Park Shed. Again I love that we have options all in a close proximity. A playground that has a range of activities for all the age groups, a place
to kick a ball and throw a Frisbee, easy parking and the food is great!

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Nooks Café Randwick. These guys not only know how to make a great coffee, but their service is impeccable, it’s always clean, they love their customers
and their kids and the brownie is to die for! This is my wake up call after kindy drop off almost every morning.

Favourite date night place:

What’s date night??;) Dinner around my local area. Maranello’s Italian (LOVE their mussels) and then a movie.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Markets at Entertainment Quarter with family and friends. Grab a some bagels or a Gozleme and sit on the grass with the kids running around listening to
some live music.

Favourite Local Shop:

The fruit shop on Anzac Parade in Maroubra. I almost always end up leaving with something new to try. They have a fantastic deli with a HUGE variety of
cheeses and olives to try out.

Favourite wet weather location:

My home! We love playing board games, kids watch/ help me make cakes and we love our movies too.

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

Wake up to beautiful sunshine, drive to a local market or day fair. Try the cuisine or baked goods on offer with a really good cup of coffee.

Let the kids have a good run around and explore. Come home after lunch for an afternoon siesta. Have friends pop around and spend the rest of the day relaxing
in the backyard or at one of the local parks.

Work or SAHM:

I’m a full time business owner of Mise en Place – Professional Organising & Property Styling.

Organising is second nature to me. Balancing work, running an efficient home and being a mum of two amazing kids has taught me the enormous value of an
uncluttered home and staying organised.

My fundamental objective is to help individuals create havens for themselves and their family; spaces that help to reduce stress and allow them to efficiently
do the things they really want to be doing.
I work through every room of the house creating unique systems to suit each individual home. From the garage
to the pantry, from the home office to the kid’s rooms.

 Specialties include:

– Home decluttering as well as the implementation of system and storage solutions

– Re-location, office re-organisation and decluttering
 – Downsizing and deceased estates
- Preparing your home for sale, layout and styling

– Kosher homes

Motherly advice : 

Be Calm, Be Present, Be Patient and Be lots of FUN!



Eastern Suburbs Mums receive a FREE 1hr decluttering/ organising or styling consultation

which will follow with a tailored plan to get you started.

Ph: 0415668288