Nicole Winterburn

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

I live in Bronte. I have lived in the Eastern Suburbs all my life.

(Apart from a short stint living in Melbourne and then Italy.)

I grew up in Rose Bay and settled in Bronte.

How many children:

I had 3 children; sadly my daughter Maya passed away and now I have two living children.

I am mum to a girl named Sabine and a boy named Raphaël. I also consider myself an Angel Mummy.

Favourite Park:

There are a few. We love a park! We love Burnie Park in Clovelly, it’s great for all aged children. My daughter is still obsessed with the Flying Fox. We have had birthday parties, picnics and after school get togethers’ there. It’s a special place for all the family. Bronte Park is also a favourite haunt especially as there’s always an ice block waiting at the end of the day! We also love Rose Bay/Lynne Park.

Favourite Beach:

Clovelly Beach as well as Bronte. Can’t go wrong with either. Being a Rose Bay girl, I still love the harbour beaches, Nielsen Park and Parsley Bay. Don’t think you can go wrong with the beaches in the East. Or Sydney for that matter.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

There a lots of kid friendly cafes around Bronte/Clovelly however I have to say Hanka at Green Mango has always made my kids feel very welcome. It all started when my son was 2 and declared he was in love with a beautiful Norwegian waitress that worked there. After that, all other cafes dissolved into the distance!

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Hands down the Three Blue Ducks. We have been going there since it opened. My kids “accidentally” drew on their cushions and Raphaël threw up on one during their first week of opening. We have watched that place evolve from a small coffee shop to the bustling, popular restaurant it is today. And we’re still allowed back!

Favourite date night place:

Three Blue Ducks. Turns into an intimate spot at night, a walk home, easy.

Favourite Mother’s Group Location:

I was never in a Mother’s group due to being at the Sydney Kids Hospital for the first 6 months of my daughters’ lives so unfortunately I missed out on that experience.

However, when my nearest and dearest friends and I did get together, Centennial Parklands always topped the list. The variety, open spaces and bike tracks appealed.

Favourite Local Shop:

Charlie’s Foodworks. We just call it Charlies. It is a family owned and run one stop shop. Charlie, Michael and John are the most genuine, caring and friendly group of people you’ll ever meet. We consider them like family. I think everyone in the Clovelly and Bronte area do too.

Favourite wet weather location:

Well I have to say home as my kids love hanging at home and playing. They declare ‘Games’ Day’ and ‘stay in our Pyjamas all day’ days. I should actually say they ambush us and declare these days!

Work or SAHM:

I am a bit of both.

After an extensive and gratifying 20+year career in media and marketing as a senior marketing director, I decided to pursue my next challenge of becoming a fully qualified yoga teacher.

I have been a fully qualified teacher for 10 years now and practice in the tradition of Krishnamacharya. This means that the yoga I teach is Yoga that connects your body and your breath. We stay in the poses to appreciate and understand the quality and effectiveness of each pose plus we move dynamically to ensure cardio function and conditioning.

I have owned my own Yoga studio, and have taught Yoga at various studios, corporate workspaces and fertility organisations (Genea) over the years.

I am now teaching from my home, during school hours, and absolutely love it. My business is called Destination Wellness and I’m hoping one day to open my own space again. In the meantime, home is my sanctuary.

The style of yoga i teach is a personalised approach, which means that i only teach small classes (max 5 people) or privates (one on one) and focus on the individual needs of my students.

I am currently working on a website and other marketing collateral however for all mums/parents/carers from Eastern Suburbs Mums, I am offering $10 off a group class to trial Yoga at home with me! Call on 0411 028 249 to book your space and day. Group classes are $25, call to enquire and book into private sessions.

Group Classes are:

Monday and Wednesday

9.30am – 11am. General Class


12.30pm – 2pm: Beginner Class


11am – 12.30am. Pre Natal class


1pm -2.30pm: Pranayama class (breath-work inspired class)


9.30am – 11am – General Class

1pm -2.30pm – Fertility Yoga

More classes to come!

Motherly advice :

Hug your kids, love your kids, hold on tight. Because today they are your world, and tomorrow it is theirs.