Mondays Local Mums - Julie and Amba

This week we meet not one but two local mums, Julie and Amba who are local business partners in Randwick and share their tips for living in the east.


Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

I have lived on and off in the East since 1996. I moved to Sydney from Port Macquarie when I worked as a chef.

I have lived in Kingsford, Bondi, Botany and currently in Randwick.

How many children:.

I have 2 girls, Bethany who is 6 and Emmeline is 3. In 2008 I had a stillborn son Dylan who is very much a part of our family.

Favourite Park:

It has changed over the stages of development with my girls.   As babies, I loved Govett Park on Dangar St, as toddlers the park in Grant Reserve Coogee. Now that the children are bigger we love to venture over to Sydney Park as they have the bike tracks with real traffic lights, elevated sandpits, huge slides, swings and climbing equipment for all ages.

Favourite Beach:

We love Coogee beach as it’s not far from home. When we arrive, the smell of the warm salty air and the sea breeze reminds me of holidays. We are so lucky to be so close to the amazing beaches of the East.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Queens Park Shed. Best of both worlds- for Mummies and children alike. I like the gated park, the kids can play while I sip my tea.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

I’m not a coffee drinker but I do love my hot chocolates from Kurtosh at The Spot. I love the atmosphere there and the cake slabs remind me of my former baking days.

Favourite Local Shop:

I’m a huge fan of Live This at The Spot. I’m thinking Amba has also said the same. You’ll often find one of us there when on a break. I also like Cotton On Kids for kids clothes, and Laugh and Learn Toy Shop in Randwick for birthday presents!

Favourite place to go out at night:

Currently loving The Coogee Pavilion for atmosphere and great variety of cuisine. I like that the music isn’t too loud so you can hold a decent conversation. I’m also partial to a Pina Colada while lounging about or on the balcony upstairs.

Favourite Mother’s Group Location:

I haven’t done this for a little while now, but we were quite involved with Randwick playgroup on Market st/Clovelly Rd. I met some lovely mums there with
whom I still keep in touch.

Work or SAHM:

Both. I’m quite active in my girls day to day lives and usually have 2-3 days off per week. On the days I work (in my business The ReVamp Rooms), Bethany is at school, and Emmy in pre school. I really love the work I do, and it’s nice to have adult conversation and some time out for myself too.

I like that I have the flexibility of both worlds. I am also a volunteer for Miracle Babies Foundation and work occasionally in the NICU at RHW. My girls know I help out there and it’s great to show them that’s it’s nice to give back to others without anything in return.

Motherly advice:

I guess there’s so much advice and opinions from others, but you need to go with your gut and work out what works best for you and your family. Sometimes it can be trial and error to work these things out, but you learn as you go.

Always take some time out for yourself, whether it be a coffee alone, an hours exercise or a pampering treatment from The ReVamp Rooms!

I have seen how quickly my girls are growing up, so cherish those midnight cuddles and funny stories, as they will soon disappear..


Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

I have lived in Sydney’s eastern suburbs since moving from Noosa in August 2000. I lived for many years in Randwick, and I’m currently living in Pagewood.

How Many Children:

I have 3 children, my eldest boy who is 15, Jesse (boy) who is 5 and Georgia has just turned 3.

Favourite Park:

One of our favorite parks is the Heffron pedal park. A bike track fit with traffic lights and roundabouts. We also love Bangor Park playground on Oberon St Coogee. It has always been a great park for when the kids were younger as it’s completely fenced in.

Favourite Beach:

We have always loved Coogee beach and we would be spotted down there every Sunday throughout summer. Towards the end of this summer we have spent a lot of time and fallen in love with south Maroubra. The kids love exploring the rock pools and finding little treasures.

Favourite Kid Friendly cafe:

Duck Duck Goose is a great kid friendly café in Randwick and I will often take the kids for a milkshake there after the gym.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Bianco Nero in The Spot, is my go to coffee shop first thing after dropping the kids at school and preschool. It’s the highlight of my morning, having my coffee in peace before heading around the corner to work!

Favourite Local Shop:

Jules and I would often be spotted at LIVE THIS at The Spot across from the salon on our lunch break. It’s perfect for that last minute birthday gift or on the odd occasion treating yourself!

Favourite place to go out at night:

I love the Coogee Pavilion on the odd Sunday afternoon, for a cheeky cocktail with friends in a relaxed child friendly atmosphere.

Favourite Mothers group location:

As our kids have gotten older my mother’s group meet occasionally in the evenings without the kids. We catch up for a Thai meal at a BYO restaurant. Enjoy a debrief on how hectic our lives have become and all agree we wouldn’t have it any other way.

Work or SAHM:

After being a stay at home mum for many years I love the fact I now have the opportunity to work for myself and to focus on my career. I am lucky to still have enough flexibility to be able to pick the kids up from school a couple of afternoons a week.

Motherly advice:

Always schedule in some ME time and remember to breathe!

The ReVamp Rooms would like to offer 10% off all services (excluding Dermastamp) to all ESM (offer ends May 31st 2016)

We are at 22 Perouse Rd Randwick (The Spot) or  9399 3309