Mondays Local Mum Shannon Hsu

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:  

We live in Vaucluse and have lived in the Eastern Suburbs for 4 years in our current home. Previously, I lived in the Eastern Suburbs for over a decade on and off.

How many children:

I have 2 children, Murphy who is 13 years old and Luella who is 15 years old.

Favourite Park:

Definitely Christian Park because we walk our 5 doggies up to the park, all around it and back down again, which they LOVE!

Favourite Beach:

Our favourite beach is Nielsen Park and we love being able to walk down to enjoy it on a beautiful Sydney Summer day.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Our fave spot on a weekend for breakfast is Sonoma Rose Bay. The staff are super friendly and the food is delicious!

Favourite Coffee Spot:

I don’t drink Coffee, but the Chai latte at the Infinity Bakery in Paddington is great.

Favourite date night place:

We love our food, so we have a few favourite restaurants, like China Diner and A Tavola in Bondi Beach, that we go to when we have an opportunity for a date night.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Depending on the weather, movies at Bondi Junction or Watsons Bay where we can jump in the water and grab a bite to eat at Watsons Bay Hotel or catch a ferry to Manly.

Favourite Local Shop:

LuMu Interiors in Double Bay! It’s a beautiful space with great service and exquisite items for our home.

Favourite wet weather location:

Hanging out at home, watching Netflix with the dogs and kids!

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

An ideal day would be starting our day at the beach at Nielsen Park, spending the day eating some fish and chips and soaking in the sun, water and the beautiful views. Followed by dinner at one of our fave restaurants in Bondi Beach and then walking down towards the beach to grab some ice cream.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

We don’t spend enough time exploring other beaches like Coogee and Bronte and would love to spend more time exploring that side of the Eastern Suburbs.

Work or SAHM:

Working mum. I own my own business, a Performing Arts School in Paddington called, Q2Dance.

Motherly advice :

We are so busy as mums doing everything for everyone else, we all need to find time for ourselves… without feeling guilty about it! Especially when it comes to being fit and healthy, finding time to go do a yoga class or a dance class or going to the gym!

Healthy body equals healthy mind and heart and less stressed mums, which means happy home!

For more info on Q2 Dance and classes for your kids