Hi I am Penny, a single Coogee mum of 2 amazing girls aged 6&10. 3 years ago my world changed forever, I lost my dad suddenly, my marriage broke down and I changed careers  so now I live by the mantra of making every moment matter and committing to everything I do. People often ask how do you do it all and my response is always, “ I don’t” I forget things, I can’t be everywhere i have learnt to rely on people, the saying  it takes a village to raise a child is so so true and I am blessed I have mine.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I have lived in Coogee for 20 years and wouldn’t live anywhere else in the world.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

The sense of community in coogee is so strong, from friends and family to the people you know at the Gym to the people you meet on the walks or dog parks, you may know know everyone personally but everyone looks out for you and if I don’t see a regular face in their normal place I sometimes worry if they are ok and I am sure I am not the only one.

How many children?

2 girls 6& 10 plus a few close friends kids that I like to laugh are my extra children.

Favorite Park:

It has to be centennial, so much to do from  bike riding, feeding crazy ducks, seeing the eels in the lakes and taking a walk through the bat forest is always something to see and do and never feels the same.

Favorite Beach:

Coogee by far, I do have a soft spot for snorkeling at Clovelly and when I don’t have the kids you might find me relaxing at the ladies pool so peaceful.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

I actually think that the east is not that great for kid friendly cafes, I haven’t found one that does kids breakfast or has areas to play and I guess thats because they can make more money from the grown ups and I get that. Most of the time we get take out and go to the beach but if we sit in normally Courtyard or Barzura.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Anywhere in the sun and with a view, Barzura or Marlie and Me, Although my snobby coffee drinking friends tell me Courtyard does the best coffee.

Favourite date night place:

The Spot – anywhere so much variety, Bat Country for a cocktail followed by Maybe Franks, Seahorse or Firefly Yummmmm.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to ?

Maroubra, even though so close I never  go???

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

More family community events.

Favourite Local Shop:

Hard to go past Vinnies I love a bargain and love the recycling aspect to it.

Favourite wet weather location:

If I am feeling great I will take the girls to Ice Zoo for an ice skate but to be honest the rain isnt that bad we out on our wets and jump in puddles.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

Beach Beach Beach followed by friends and family catch up at the Coogee beach club.

Work or SAHM?

Full time – I work as head of partnerships for Royal Far West, Australia’s only national charity dedicated to the health and well being of country children.

Motherly advice?

Gosh who am I to give advice…..  But if i had to I would say don’t forget to be you and take time for self care, theres a reason that on planes they day fix your mask first.