My name is Lisa and my husband and I have 2 children (6 & 3). We have been married for 12 years and have lived in Botany for 10 years. 

Our journey to parenthood was not an easy one. Both our children are IVF babies and we are extremely grateful and blessed that we were able to succeed with that process.

I previously worked in the travel industry and was fortunate to travel to some beautiful countries however there is truly no place like home.

I now work as a Finance and Admin officer in a Primary School. I have worked there for 10 years and can honestly say I love my job (school holidays help!).

I have 3 brothers and 9 nieces and nephews and they mostly all still live in the Eastern Suburbs. 

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I grew up in Kingsford/Maroubra and then moved to Botany. My husband also grew up in Maroubra however was not in the East when we met. We both knew that living in the eastern suburbs was where we wanted to raise our family. 

Our first home was in Kogarah but we were fortunate enough to move back to Botany in 2014.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?




How many children?

My daughter is 6 and my son is 3

Favourite Park?

Sir Joseph Banks Park Botany. They have recently had an upgrade and added a great new section including a flying fox.  There is a little bike track and lots of spots to hold birthday parties. 

Favourite Beach?

Yarra Bay is a fantastic spot to take young kids. There are little to no waves and my kids love climbing the rocks.

Favourite kids friendly cafe?

Mascot Corner Café is one our favourite cafes for breakfast. Lovely food, good kids menu and friendly staff.

Cosi Nero in Botany is another great place. They have a kids play area out the back.

Favourite Coffee Spot?

Malika Bakehouse Botany. Great location (walking distance for us!) and good coffee.  

Favourite date night place?

Date nights are rare so we always like to try somewhere new. We went to Nomad in Surry Hills for our anniversary and absolutely loved it. The food was incredible.

Filante’s Pizzeria in Banksmeadow is lovely for a casual date night. Woodfire pizza and arancini are delicious.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to go?

Would love to do more of the local walks and trails like the Coogee to Bronte walk. 

I recently went to lunch in Double Bay and was amazed at how much it has changed so would like to check out more of the cafes and restaurants there.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

The buses! We need to take 2 buses to Eastgardens or 2 buses to Mascot train station. We can only get as far as Redfern by bus so better access to the city would be ideal.

Favourite Local Shop?

I mostly shop online for myself. I haven’t been in person however Toni May in Paddington is my favourite for jewellery at the moment.

Favourite wet weather location?

At home with the kids watching a movie. Now that they are older this is a lot easier to do.

Otherwise any type of indoor play centre. Vitaland in Alexandria is a good one especially for the younger kids.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

Usually we are busy with sport activities so when we get a chance we like to take the kids on bike rides either around Botany, Heffron Park or Centennial Park.

Work or SAHM?

I have been working part time since my daughter (6) was 8 months old. I took 8 months off with my son as well. I love my job and the people I work with and I have been fortunate enough to have my parents and mother in law around to help us out so I continue to work.

I will stay part time until my son starts school in 2026 and then look at going back to full time.

Motherly advice?

Trust your instincts. Do what works for you and your family. Don’t compare your kids or your parenting styles to others.
Don’t be fooled if your first child is a good sleeper, the second child will be the complete opposite!!! 

But mostly enjoy every second as time really does fly.