My name is Lara Volpe. My husband and I live in Bondi with our 2 beautiful boys, Ben who is 8 and Jack, 4.I am a pilates instructor and trained physiotherapist.

I teach in my own pilates studio in Double Bay. After more than 16 years of teaching pilates and working across different settings, I have found my own style of teaching, where I get to live my passion by helping clients understand and strengthen their bodies in the best way possible.

I also volunteer for the AJFN (Australian Jewish Fertility Network) which is something that I am extremely passionate about. I take my own experience with IVF, pregnancy and the post-partum journey and integrate this into a lot of my pre- and post-natal pilates teaching. 

I love to move my body in any way that feels good (usually pilates, yoga or running down at the beach) – I need to do that for my sanity as a working mum!

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I have been living in the Eastern Suburbs since I moved to Australia in 2003. Bondi has been home for the last 11 years, and I have no intention of leaving – being close to the ocean feeds my soul! Prior to that I was living with my family in Double Bay, which I love – it’s my second home as I have my studio there.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Busy, breathtakingly beautiful

How many children?

Two boys who definitely keep me on my toes. I love watching their relationship change into being more like “mates” as they are getting older. 

Favourite Park:
We are lucky enough to live really close to Bondi Beach so we spend a lot of time at Bondi Beach playground in summer. We also love taking scooters to Barracluff Park especially as there is a field to have a kick around as well as the new basketball court and playground!

Favourite Beach:

Bondi for sure (convenience is everything in the Eastern Suburbs!)

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Bobby’s Corner on Wairoa Ave. They are so friendly, have lots of space, are very accommodating with the kids and always have the best mini cupcakes for a kids’ treat.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

La Piadina or The Shop. I’m very picky with my coffee and these 2 cafes never disappoint!

Favourite date night place:

Taquiza –  good food, good vibes, good Margaritas!

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to ?

I would really love to explore the beautiful cliffs, coastal walks and hidden beaches south of Coogee.

What would you like to see improved in the eastern suburbs?

Kids’ playgrounds with more creative and inclusive equipment. When we go away, often the highlights of the kids’ holiday are cool and interesting playgrounds in other cities.

I would also love the cafes and restaurants to stay open later. There’s not many places in the world better than the eastern suburbs by day, but some later afternoon options and improved night life would make it even better!

Favourite Local Shop:

Abode on Hall St is always good for a last minute birthday present! And definitely Stylerunner for an activewear wardrobe (my work uniform) update.

Favourite wet weather location:

Woollahra Library, especially when the slide is open 🙂

But honestly, it’s hard to beat having a pyjama day at home with my family when it’s cold and wet outside!

Favourite local family weekend activity?
If the weather is nice, a walk and picnic in Cooper Park, or a swim and splash slightly out of the Bondi bubble at Gunyama Park Aquatic Centre.

Work or SAHM?

I officially work “part time”, as my little one is not yet in school 5 days. But it feels like I’m always working “full time” being a mum and trying to keep the wheels turning at home!

Working with other people and having a positive impact on their lives fuels me. I am super passionate about the work that I do, no matter how many hours of the week it is. That is what gives me the energy to be the best mum that I can be when I’m at home with the kids. It’s all about finding a balance that works for you! 

 Motherly advice?

“This too shall pass”