Hi there! I live in Bondi and Im a mum to my 10 year old daughter and have been a step-mum to my husbands oldest daughter since she was 4 year old, but she is all grown up now at 19 years old. Time flies! 

I am also a comedian and a singer-songwriter. I originally grew up on a farm near a small town in the Wheatbelt of Western Australia, called Bruce Rock, and it couldnt be more different to Bondi! I worked for many years as a registered nurse before entering the arts world, and then juggled both for a while. While I am no longer nursing I am still performing, and you can find me on stage doing stand up comedy, singing  tunes – or both! Last year my show 40 Year Old Popstar, a mix of stand-up comedy and original songs, was part of the Bondi Festival, and most recently I have released a cheeky little comedy song called That Thong Song. While I think my performing is sometimes an embarrassment to my 10-year-old—especially my latest song, our family has a great love for the creative life. My husband is a writer, as well as running his corporate business where he helps individuals and companies with their presentation and pitching skills. We both went to drama schools when we were younger, and we are currently starting up acting classes for kids in term 2 in Bondi. Its called Bondi Performing Arts, and we are looking forward to sharing our skills with the local kids.

We love living in Bondi! Since weve been here, we try to make the most of all that it has to offer. My daughter has skateboarding and surf lessons and I even started surf lessons myself. (I think Ive missed the boat with skateboarding!)  We find the Bondi community friendly, and coming from a small country town where everyone knows everyone, Bondi is also a place where you can walk down the street and run into someone you know and stop for a good yarn

If you feel like having a laugh today, check out my new comedy song, which you will find on this page, and you can also find it on my social media pages with the links below.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east? 

I have lived in Sydney’s eastern suburbs, on and off for about 13 years. This includes Randwick, Maroubra and now Bondi.

Three words that describe what its like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Beach, bums, fun!

How many children?

10 yr old daughter and 19 yr old step-daughter

Favourite Park?

The park at Bronte Beach as it has everything – playground, lovely grass, bush, waterfall, beach, ocean pools and coffee.

Favourite Beach?

My favourite beach is actually in Western Australia and it’s called Little Beach, which is down south near Albany. But in the Eastern Suburbs, I’ll have to go with Bondi Beach, because I can walk to it and it is great at the north end for surfing as a beginner.

Favourite kids friendly cafe?

We like Bills as the atmosphere is calm and they have pencils and colouring to keep kids occupied. 

Favourite Coffee Spot?

Chapter One on the corner or Sir Thomas Mitchell rd and Campbell Pde. It has my favourite breakfast called the Trufflecaddo, and the coffee is great. I also grab my take away coffees on Bondi Rd at Tinpin.

Favourite date night place?

Geez, this is a hard one. I think this question clearly indicates I don’t go on enough date nights! If my husband and I have some time off together we love watching a movie at the Randwick Ritz. And a vanilla chop top is a must. Otherwise we might go and watch some comedy together.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to go?

I’m still yet to explore some of the smaller beaches around Watsons Bay, so that is on the to do list.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

I would like to see the skateboarding park at Bondi Beach improved. I’ve heard there are plans for development but the go ahead has not yet occurred. Most of the ramps are quite a steep so it’s harder for younger kids that are just beginning. There is a great skateboard park behind East Gardens shopping centre called Mutch Park and it caters for all ages and levels. It would be great to see something similar added on to the current skate park in Bondi.

Favourite Local Shop?

Abode on Hall st, Bondi. Staff are always friendly and you can find a gift for everyone – including yourself!

Favourite wet weather location?

Waverley library. Lots of book and games for my daughter and I can still get work done on my computer if needed.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

My daughter and I have recently started getting our fruit and veggies at the Saturday Bondi Farmers markets as being a farm girl, I love to support farmers and it’s way more fun than going to Coles or Woolies. And there are great deals, the passionfruit are huge and I love the community vibe.

On Sunday mornings my husband and I watch our daughter skateboard at the Bondi skate park near the beach and then we wander up to the Sunday markets which are also at Bondi Beach School, like the Saturday markets. So we spend a lot of time at the markets.

Work or SAHM?


Motherly advice?

Stay open. Be willing to change your point of view about things. It’s ok to have an ideal that isn’t met or changes. Try and ride the waves with some flexibility. Your kids are different to you and on different journeys. Trust your instincts.

For interest in kids acting classes: bondiperformingarts@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/reel/1340411756662241

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/reel/C3Ugjd1rBIO/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igsh=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

So I wrote a song about a thong. Some may say I’ve got some cheek showing some cheek but I’ve never been one to shy away from the big issues. What do you think – is the thong for you?