Hi, I’m Meryl and I am enjoying life in the Eastern Suburbs with my husband and two busy toddlers. Since having my children I’ve exited the corporate world and have started my own small business, which provides support to other small businesses and start-ups. I find my work incredibly rewarding and I share more about this below. I feel very fortunate to be raising my kids in such a beautiful part of the world and am grateful for all of the amazing beaches, parks and child-friendly facilities we are able to access with such ease.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I’ve lived in the Eastern suburbs for about fifteen years now, with a brief jaunt to London for four years during this time. I now live in Woollahra with my husband, children and fur child (a 5-year-old english staffy, who at times is needier than both of my toddlers!)

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Breath-taking, bustling and convenient.

How many children?

Two. A 3.5-year-old son and 1.5-year-old daughter.

Favourite Park:

Cooper Park. We live within walking distance, and I love having this this inner-city oasis at my fingertips. A walk along one of the many beautiful trails always puts me in a good head space.

Favourite Beach: 

Clovelly Beach. It’s great for our little ones and my husband and I love ocean swimming.

Favourite kid friendly cafe: 

Centennial Homestead. It’s hard to beat enjoying a hot coffee while the kids and dog tire themselves out playing on the lawn or at the nearby playground.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

We love the coffee at Café Vernon, Woollahra. We have a coffee machine at home so frequently buy their beans, in bulk.

Favourite date night place: 

We love to sneak in a visit to the front bar at Hotel Centennial, Woollahra. It’s usually pretty quiet (i.e., we can actually hear each other speak), oh and I love the interiors.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to?

I’d love to complete the Hermitage Foreshore walk, it’s been on my to-do list for years now.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

Less traffic, more parking

Favourite Local Shop:

This is a dangerous question.  If I had to pick, Oliver Thom (Edgecliff Rd, Woollahra) for luxe bathroom accessories or Crave Wares (Bellevue Rd, Belleveue Hill) for gorgeous gifts.

Favourite wet weather location:

The kidspace on level 2 of the Australian Museum and the Woollahra library are firm family favourites.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

During the summer months we love visiting the Ian Potter Children’s Wild Play Garden in Centennial Park. It’s such a gorgeous space that encourages the kids to be creative and roam freely in nature. The water play area is great for cooling down toddlers (without full submersion!)

Work or SAHM?

I run my own small business called This is Working Well which is all about offering flexible support to other small businesses. I use my 15 years of corporate experience to provide a range of professional services from HR, recruitment, marketing, project management and general admin. 

I absolutely love supporting other hard-working women (mostly mums) to get their businesses up and running, or running more smoothly, by taking the headache out of a number of administrative or operational tasks. 

I have found that a lot of other small business owners are often in need of some extra support to achieve their business goals but don’t want the pressure of hiring a full or part-time employee. That’s where I step in and offer flexible support by the hour. 

I love what I do and would welcome the opportunity to share more about my services with anyone interested. Please get in touch if with me if this sounds like you.

Motherly advice?

I’m certainly no expert but ‘don’t be so hard on yourself’ and ‘never, ever compare yourself to other mums’ seem like helpful reminders

For more information about Meryl’s business, visit www.thisisworkingwell.com.au