Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

Myself and my Kiwi hubby emigrated to Australia from the UK almost 10 years to the day! We initially lived in Surry Hills for 5 years but then felt like we needed to ‘grow up’ a little after having our daughter so moved to Paddington


How many children:

1 girl 6 years old

Favourite Park:

Any park that has monkey bars. My daughter is obsessed with them!!

Favourite Beach:

Has to be North Bondi – I know, I know, it’s a bit cliché but there’s a genuine family vibe down there that’s organically evolved that I love being around.

The natural rocks and lack of high rises makes this one of the most beautiful beaches on the planet and therefore my happy place.

The ocean is calm, the sand is soft and the Messina gelato van is delicious

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Centennial Park homestead is our local and I love that you can have a casual take-away snacks or a sit down meal right next to a playground. To look out at all that greenery whilst sitting in the middle of Sydney is epic and utterly unique

Favourite Coffee Spot:

I’ve just discovered this fantastic little café in the middle of Paddo on Underwood street called Bonython Café. Nestled within loads of green ferns, they serve incredible creamy coffee whilst listening to tunes that remind me of holidaying in Ibiza

Favourite date night place:

For cocktails, Light Brigade Rooftop Bar, looking up at that blue sky makes me feel like I’m on holiday, every time!

Or Café Sydney which has an even more incredible view!

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Wandering through Paddington Market on a Saturday morning is always a family favorite. I remember visiting the famous market when I was backpacking, never thinking for a moment that fast forward 15 years I’d be living here with my Kiwi husband and daughter.

Favourite Local Shop:

Ohhhhh that’s a hard one for a personal shopper but here goes….

Ok, it has to be Di Nuovo at 92 William Street that sells pre-loved designer clothes and accessories. I have a sustainable ethos to my personal styling business and these guys stock lust-worthy-instant-wardrobe-updates at surprisingly affordable prices! Vinnies on Oxford Street is also a fav because who doesn’t love guilt free shopping?

Paddington is full of incredible boutiques, I regularly visit:

Volange – 302 Oxford Street who stock French brands in effortless styles in natural fabrics at great prices – their jewelry is amazing too!

Hansen & Gretel – 212 at Oxford Street create feminine, edgy fashion, swim and footwear who design & manufacture ‘forever’ pieces within the seven parameters of the green strategy

Watson x Watson – 2-16 Glenmore Road create modern essentials for a Aussie girls wardrobe that’s easily styled up for day or night. Their silk shirts and tanks with 2 different necklines are must-have’s!

And of course, the real reason I live in Paddington… all the designer sample sales where you can purchase designer pieces at a fraction of the cost!! Pop-up’s are regularly held so follow my Style.Sense insta stories for updates


Favourite wet weather location:

Has to be my lounge, playing Lego with my daughter and hubby, probably with some kind of animated movie on.

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

Start the day with a little jog around Centennial Park or hit Lagree Australia in Double Bay for a challenging work-out with one of the best trainers I’ve ever found, Danica. She’s whipped my 40-something backside into a shape I actually don’t mind squeezing in to tight jeans!

Then if the sun’s shining, we’d head to the beach to grab some rays, some lunch and a dip.

Followed by a bar-b and beers back at our place with some great friends where all the kiddies release some energy before tucking my daughter up in bed with one of her favorite books from the Ruby Red Shoes trilogy. Heaven.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

Parsley Bay and other harbor beaches. We have the most incredible beaches in Sydney which was a huge part of why we relocated here, to find a bustling, cosmopolitan city with beaches is pretty rare and I intend to enjoy every. Single. One.

Work or SAHM:

I have my own personal styling business StyleSense that works around my family’s routine. I’m an ex London based fashion designer so I have 20 years experience dressing women and I’m passionate about helping mums get back more hours in their day, save money and give them confidence when they dress.

Motherly advice:

Don’t be too hard on yourself. None of us have got a clue either.


For stress free style contact Kim Crowley 0423 617 932 and mention ESM to receive a 10% discount off any service