My name is Simone Skinner-Smith and I am a 40-year-old wife, mum-of-two, television producer, orange belt martial artist and coffee addict…amongst other things!

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I grew up in Sydney and have lived in the Eastern Suburbs for six years now.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Gorgeous, action-packed and expensive.

How many children?

Two boys aged 5 and 8. They are the best!

Favourite Park:

Turruwul Park in Rosebery because it has it all…a playground, outdoor gym, tennis

courts, cricket nets, basketball court, soccer field and a café across the road.

Favourite Beach: 

Mahon Pool in Maroubra because ‘anti-sand’ kids love it! We have a family tradition going of having a breakfast picnic and a swim here on New Year’s Day as the sun rises…if we’re able to get up early enough. It’s getting harder as the boys get older!

Favourite kid friendly cafe: 

Café Two Fives in Rosebery is a local gem. The food is great, the staff are even greater and they will even come to your house in their mint green coffee van if you can’t quite get everyone out the door in the morning!

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Also Café Two Fives in Rosebery

Favourite date night place: 

Capanno Trattoria Bar and Grill in Botany is a complete local secret….shhh! Don’t be fooled by the old rundown façade because lurking behind the peeling paint and daggy lace curtains is an authentic Italian restaurant that will have you undoing the top button of your jeans by the end of the night!

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to?

Little Bay…I hear it’s gorgeous.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

Parking, and more indoor centres for the kids. There seemed to be a mass closing of indoor gyms and activity centres for the kids recently – likely Covid related – so it would be great to see more open up again because these places are a lifesaver for parents.

Favourite Local Shop:

Clever Aint Wise in Zetland. It’s a clothing boutique for both men and women and stocks a lot of great labels like PE Nation, Bec and Bridge… and it is easy to duck into for a quick browse after you have done the weekly grocery shopping at East Village.

Favourite wet weather location:

The movies at Eastgardens because the chairs are so big and comfy and – as I said above – all the indoor play places have shut.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

Grabbing the bikes and roller skates and heading to the netball courts at Heffron Park in Matraville for a ride on a smooth surface. I am managing to keep up on my roller skates for now…but it won’t be long until I am left for dead!

Work or SAHM?

I work from home as a Post Producer on television programs like The Bachelor and Australian Ninja Warrior. I feel very lucky to have this flexibility. It makes me a better Producer and also a way better mum being able to WFH… I just don’t wash my hair all that much anymore!

Motherly advice?

Don’t compare yourself to anyone…ever. Especially other mums on social media or even reading this right now. It’s easy for other people’s lives to look all peachy online but we all have a battles and struggles.
And… don’t just watch the kids do sport…do it with them! I recently signed up to do martial arts with the kids after sitting in a hall watching them for months. One day I was like… “I could do that!” and so I signed up to and now our Sunday morning family martial arts class is the highlight of all of our weeks. I am now an orange belt and I can do a mean axe kick….never thought I’d say that!