Sue Rosen

Meet this week’s local mum Sue Rosen from Paddington and what life in Sydney’s east is like as a mum of two teenagers! 

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

My husband Mark and I have lived in Paddington since 1995. We’ve moved house once in that time, but only 50 metres up the road! We love the neighbourhood.

How many children:

We have two beautiful girls, aged 15 and 13.

Favourite Park:

Centennial Park is fabulous and is right on our doorstep. Over the years we have all used it so often for exercising and social occasions. Most of my daughters’ birthday parties were held in the park – their favourite party activity for years was acting out “We’re going on a bear hunt” through Lachlan Swamp!

Favourite Beach:

So many good ones to choose from!

We all love Bondi but Clovelly seems to be the current favourite when the girls are hanging out with their friends, and Mark and I love Tamarama when we are kid-free.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

With teenagers you don’t really need kid-friendly but you do want Instagram worthy food and drinks! Speedos at Bondi Beach ticks all the boxes and does a really awesome breakfast, and of course is in an amazing location right across from the beach.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Wolf on Elizabeth Street in Paddington right opposite Paddington Public School does great coffee and yummy cake and we always bump in to someone we know there so it’s a fantastic local catch-up spot.

Favourite date night place:

Mark and I love films and theatre so most of our date nights are either at the Chauvel or Verona Cinemas in Paddington, accompanied by a feature length size glass of wine, or Belvoir Street Theatre in Surry Hills, which we love.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

The cliff walk followed by a swim at Bondi or Bronte, and then lunch at one of the great local cafes.

Favourite Local Shop:

Paddington Fresh on Oxford Street for a great selection of fresh food, and also pre-prepared meals for when I have neither time nor inclination to cook.

Favourite wet weather location:

The movies, or for something more active the girls love the trampolines at Skyzone in Alexandria, or the climbing walls at Sydney Indoor Climbing in St Peters.

Work or SAHM:

I have always worked part-time since having the girls.

I am an accredited coach, with many years of corporate experience in senior roles, and am passionate about empowering women and helping them navigate all the twists and turns which come with combining a career and family life.

My website is and I have a Facebook page which contains details of upcoming workshops and events, as well as my regular blog,

Motherly advice:

Ask for help when you need it, don’t ever think you have to do it all on your own, and make sure you look after yourself, physically, mentally and emotionally.

And take time to enjoy just being with your kids – they really do grow up before you know it!