Mondays Local Mum Samantha Payne

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

Just shy of 10 years, we moved to Bondi from London in 2009. Spent 5 fabulous child free fun years in Bondi, then a year in Coogee and the last 4 years
in Botany.

How many children:

2 Georgie who is 5 and Johnny who is 1

Favourite Park:

Centennial Park love the choice play areas, scooting areas and wild play is a great addition. Easy parking and caffeine close = a winning park.

Favourite Beach:

Coogee will always have my heart after living there when Georgie was born and my mums group time on the grassy knoll to her toddler years spent splashing
in the pool area. I’ve seen many sunrises over Coogee beach with a baby in a carrier and a coffee in my hand, some of my happiest memories.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Botany Buzz has an excellent play corner area for little ones so you mayactually get to
sit down and have coffee without a toddler climbing over you! I’m actually that ‘avoid coffee shop stage’ with Johnny

Favourite Coffee Spot:

I’m loving Biks Cafe in Botany at the moment great fit out, welcoming staff, menu is excellent its
a convenient stop after daycare drop offs. Their smashed Avo with beetroot relish is yummy.


Favourite date night place:

I need to shout two favourites out

1. Capanno Trattoria on Botany Rd, its walking distance from us which is an added bonus, the
food is amazing authentic Italian and its BYO wine. Its a bit of Surry Hills in Botany, Alex and Matt have done a great fit out and are the best

2. Johnny Fishbone, Darlinghurst apart from loving the name and amazing food with a fab wine list.
This place is perfect for date nights with its intimate vibes it takes us back to our child free days living in Portugal.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Early morning rises equals a coffee and a stroll along Coogee with the kids, a play at the park and head back for sleeps then a lazy afternoon over
Botany Pools with friends.

Favourite Local Shop:

ha ha this is hard shopping with kids isn’t fun I spend far too much time in Eastgardens and it may not be local but Kmart is my go to for anything
and everything!

Favourite wet weather location:

SkyZone Little leapers on a morning is great if its really raining otherwise mine are very happy in wellies (gumboots) splashing in puddles like Peppa

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

A morning with the kids at Centennial Park then a babysitter and adults lunch at Bondi Fish on a sunny day with lots of Rose.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

Vaucluse way is still a mystery to me.

Work or SAHM:

Both I run a charity – The Pink Elephants Support Network that supports couples through miscarriage
and infertility from home. I’m lucky my kids are in great local daycares and I get to work from home. Though I do miss working in an office with
other people.

Motherly advice :

The sun will always rise, tomorrow is a new day and if all else fails make friends with wine!