Mondays Local Mum Samantha Lambert

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

I have been in the East since 1991 so 25 years on and off taking in stints overseas.

My husband and I moved home in 2009 after 12 years living in London and Hong Kong and are now based in Vaucluse.

How many children:

3 children, Tom who’s 7, Olivia age 10 and Sophie aged 11

Favourite Park:

Christison Park in Vaucluse. I take my dog, Maisy, up there most days where she can run off lead. I’m in awe of the the scenery each time, South Head to one side, Sydney Harbour to the other.

Favourite Beach:

Camp Cove.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Ruby’s Diner in Waverley. We used to live around the corner when we first arrived home from Hong Kong with small kids. It was my saviour when I needed to get the kids into the pram and out of the house. Now they are older I love The Trail in Vaucluse. Yummy breakfasts and great coffee.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

The Trail and Rocco’s – both in Vaucluse

Favourite date night place:

A’Tavola in Bondi …. However its been a while between dates!

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

Walking with the family down to Watsons Bay taking the our beautiful Harbour and feeling very fortunate to live in such an amazing place.

Favourite Local Shop:

Rose Bay Art Shop for last minute birthday party gifts. I’m always in there getting presents at the last minute and as an added bonus they wrap too! Zjoosh in Double Bay and Rose Bay for adult gifts, and also great wrapping.

Favourite wet weather location:

If it’s a Sunday we will be tucked up at home watching a movie. Otherwise any other day life goes on rain, hail or shine to our afterschool and weekend

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

A spin class at Up!Cycle in Potts Point, swing past The Grumpy Baker on my way home to grab a (usually warm and fresh out of the oven) soy linseed sourdough. Then later a coastal walk with my family, followed by a swim at Camp Cove then a cheeky glass of wine at Watson’s Bay Hotel on the way home.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

Lots of people say good things about the Chinese Restaurants in Kingsford and Maroubra. We love Chinese food so its definitely on the list of things to do for a Sunday lunch with family.

Work or SAHM:

I have a company called The Home Edited, a home and office de-cluttering and organization service.

My background is Banking and Finance however this was built from a lifelong obsession with organizing and de-cluttering my own living spaces I decided to help my best friend (a busy full time working Mum of 3) declutter and organise her pantry which she now describes as life changing.

She encouraged me to put my skills to good use and create a service helping other busy families to do the same.

I launched in July, and website is in production, however to keep up to date and get inspired on all things home organization (think kids rooms, play rooms, kitchen pantry, linen cupboards and much more!!)  you can follow me on Facebook and follow @the.home.edited on Instagram.

Motherly advice :

When my kids were babies and toddlers my Mother would remind me to enjoy every minute as they grow so fast. And she was right! So I would say to anyone who is feeling the struggle with 3 kids under 5 like I did at one stage, soak up every cuddle and every moment. My eldest is starting high school next year and I wonder where those years have gone.

Some examples of decluttering BEFORE AND AFTER: