Mondays Local Mum Kim Holmes

Each Monday we meet a local eastern suburb mum to hear about her life living in Sydney’s east. This week meet Kim Holmes a Kensington mum of two who is passionate about good nutrition and loves an almond milk latte!

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I currently live in Kensington with my husband and two children. I have grown up in the eastern suburbs, in Clovelly.

How many children do you have?

I have two gorgeous children, my ‘healthy little B’s”. A little girl, Billie who is 5 and her younger brother Baxter 3 (and a half if you ask him!)

Favourite Park?

At the moment we spend time at The Shed at Queens Park – the kids love the sand pit, plus there are loads of other things to do including plenty of grass to run around, shade and coffee. We also spend some time at Spider Park at the south end of Coogee Beach. Again, heaps to do, great scenery and the ocean is just a few steps away.  We have had a few successful birthday parties at both parks.

Favourite Beach?

As a family we love Clovelly & Coogee. I grew up at both beaches and the kids love the calmer water and the ocean pools there.

Favourite kid-friendly cafe?

Socially we have met up with friends at the Pavilion at Coogee on a Saturday or Sunday for a late lunch. Kids are entertained and parents can enjoy great food and a glass of wine! It seems to work for everyone J For breakfast, we love Ruby’s at Waverley (of course I love for the wholefoods/ superfood options) but they also have a great little kids menu

We also head to The Grounds a fair bit for breakfast in winter. So much going on for the kids (play area, their resident animals, loads of space) plus fabulous real fresh wholefoods. My husband usually has to drag me out of there.

Favourite coffee spot?

As a busy mum, after the gym i grab a delicious coconut milk latte from Maze on the outskirts (High St) of UNSW. Our other local is No.12 Trading at Kensington who do a fab almond latte.  The shop is full of vintage items, local honey and naturally scented candles. Sometimes it is hard to leave without spending more than the cost of a coffee!

Favourite date night location?

We are loving Da Mario’s at Rosebery at the moment; for real fresh Italian food, gorgeous wine and a great atmosphere.

Favourite wet weather location?

I would have to say (after the creche at the gym to get the kids out of the house) intially, then we would be at home for the afternoon. The kids are playing so well together at the moment and i can get work, cooking and home duties done while they play (and make a mess)!

Work or SAHM?

Both. I am lucky that I run my nutrition business predominately from home.

Motherly advice?

Always get the kids out at least once a day in the fresh air and sunshine. It does wonders and keeps us sane. Oh and always have healthy snacks on hand (for kids and mum!)

Kim is a qualified nutritionist and the owner of The Healthy Little B – offering wellness & nutrition solutions to mums, dads and their children via consultations, workshops, pantry make-overs and more.

Come and say hi;