Hi everyone, I’m Jayne and I’m a South Coogee local. I’m originally from Liverpool in the UK but Australia has been my home for a while now. This place is truly wonderful for raising kids! I love our local beaches, I love eating (so much!) and I love meeting up with my fellow mum friends! I also love trashy TV…but I don’t get too much time for that hobby with 2 little ones. 

A few months back, my job was made redundant. I thought I would take the opportunity for some time out to set up a business that I’ve been thinking about for a while now. My lunch box business, Fe.Box, was launched just a few weeks ago. I spent seven years studying chemistry at uni, with a minor in materials science, so I’m super interested in the materials my food is stored in, as well as the food that goes inside. The lunch boxes are made of stainless steel, my go-to material. Stainless steel is made mostly of iron, so as a no nonsense brand I thought I’d call the business Fe.Box after the chemical element iron (Fe). And if you haven’t guessed by now, I’m a super nerd!

I’ll pop my website and socials at the bottom of the interview, where I share some super simple lunch box inspo. If you’re interested, I’d love for you to check them out or reach out to me with any questions. I’ll also share a discount code for ESM readers.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I’ve lived in the Eastern Suburbs permanently for the past 8 years and on and off for the past 20 years! I was your typical backpacking pom who fell in love with this country.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Beautiful coastal paradise

How many children?

I’ve got 2 crazy gorgeous kids. A 7 year old boy and a 2 (nearly 3) year old girl…born during the bizarre covid times!

Favourite Park:

Randwick Environmental Park. It’s an awesome place to meet friends, ride a bike or kick a ball. There’s also a great little playground nearby that our little one enjoys. We’ve had all our kids’ birthday parties at this park so lots of happy memories. It’s also a great place for a walk when working from home.

Favourite Beach:

Yikes, how can I pick one? They’re all amazing. It blows me away that a major city can have such stunning beaches…but if forced, I’ll pick 2. Coogee because it’s our local and we love it, our son does nippers there and the volunteers are phenomenal. We also love Clovelly for its kiddy friendliness; my little one can paddle and my big one can snorkel.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

It’s more of a restaurant than a cafe but Bistro on the Greens is super kid friendly. I feel so comfortable taking my kids there, it’s a great spot to meet with other families for a pizza. 

Favourite Coffee Spot:

Madame & Yves, not just for the coffee but also the pastries and gelato are out of this world. I go in for one thing and come out with about 10, I can’t resist! We also love walking down to The Little Kitchen, again I can’t just stop for a coffee if I go there, the food is insane! Ok, I think I’m failing these questions because I can’t pick one of anything, we’re so spoiled for amazing places in our community!

Favourite date night place:

Sugarcane is awesome and the food is amazing! Date night, girls night, family night…for all the nights.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to ?

Cooper Park, our neighbour told us all about it and we’ve got it on our list to explore!

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

More co-ed high school options. Everyone has their own preference for what they want for their kids and for those who want co-ed, I don’t think this option is available for all the areas in the eastern suburbs.

Favourite Local Shop:

The Fish Market at Maroubra, we love to grab some fish and make our own sushi. You’ll also find us there for our Easter and Christmas prawns without fail! For my special (obviously 21st) birthday, I was so tired I wanted to stay home so we splurged on some fancy seafood from The Fish Market and it was AMAZING!

Favourite wet weather location:

Coogee Pav, there’s enough to entertain the kids and I can still get good food (and maybe a cheeky wine).

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

In the summer we really enjoy an evening beach session and a BBQ dinner. In the winter we always head for a spot of whale watching at Dolphin Point in Coogee or at Maroubra.

Work or SAHM?

Work is my preference but while my kids were young I found a mix worked well. I worked part-time for several years and found I enjoyed being able to work and have some time with my kids. I’m a massive advocate for flexibility and the difference it can make in people’s (particularly mothers) lives. Mums get stuff done and are a great addition to any workplace!

Motherly advice?

Survive! (I’m still in the trenches of sleep deprivation right now so I’m not sure I’m the best person to give advice!) Jokes aside, do what works for you, you’re the best mum for your kids and you’re doing a great job! And try to have a laugh along the way, my kids love a bit of silly time (as do I)!


Business links

Website: www.febox.com.au

Discount code: Enter ESM10 for a 10% discount, valid until end of 2023


YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/@metalboxlunch