The Australian Surfing Walk of Fame at Maroubra Beach was initiated in 2006 and is the first of its kind in Australia, it recognises and celebrates the outstanding achievements of Australia’s leading Surfers and Surf Life Savers. The Australian Surfing Walk of Fame is a prestigious and sought after award within Australia’s surfing beach culture. Inductees are highly regarded and considered ‘Legends of Surf’.

The Surfers and Surf Life Savers inducted into the Australian Surfing Walk of Fame will have a bronze plaque in recognition of their efforts laid into the promenade at Maroubra Beach at an annual or bi-annual ceremony, preferably associated with a high-profile beach and surfing event.

Australian Surfing Walk of Fame Nominations for 2024

The Australian Surfing Walk of Fame Nominations for 2024 are now open, and will close on Wednesday 22 May at 3pm. Please submit your nomination via the link below.

Nominate Now

2023 Inductees

The 2023 inductees to the Australian Surfing Walk of Fame were announced at Beach Breaks on Sunday 23 July 2023 at 1pm at Maroubra Beach.

Layne Beachley AO – Inductee for Surfing

  • Association of Surfing Professionals Women’s World Champion 1998-2003, 2006
  • Laureus World Alternative Sportsperson of the Year Award 2005
  • International Surfing Association World Masters Champion 2011, 2013
  • Chairperson for Surfing Australia Since 2015
  • World Surf League Masters World Champion 2018
  • Midget Farelly Lifetime Achievement Award 2018
  • Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee 2006

Brenda Miley – Inductee for Surfing

  • Founder and Surf School Director Lets Go Surfing Since 1995
  • Founder and President of Bondi Girls Surf Riders Club Since 1999
  • Women’s Surfing Director and Life Member of Surfing NSW
  • John Shimooka Aloha Spirit of Surfing Award 2022
  • Bondi Business Woman of the Year 2019
  • NSW Tourism Awards Hall of Fame Inductee 2019
  • International Women’s Day Award Inaugural Recipient 2023

Blake Thornton – Inductee for Surfing

  • Qualified and Competed on The World Championship Tour 2010
  • O’Neill Cold Water Classic Series Champion 2009
  • O’Neill Cold Water Classic
  • Cape Town Event Champion 2009
  • Australian Open Titles Champion 2005
  • NSW Open Titles Champion 2004
  • Newcastle Pro Junior Champion 2003
  • Billabong Pro Junior Series Champion 2003

Lisa McGuigan (Nee Hardy) – Inductee for Surf Life Saving

  • World Champion Open Women’s Board Race 1988
  • Pioneered Ironwoman Racing Fosters Ironman 1985
  • 1st Woman to Compete in the Kellogg’s Nutri-Grain Endurance Ironman Series 1985 – 1990
  • Medallist Australian Open Women’s Board Race 1987
  • Medallist Inaugural Australian Open Women’s Board Race 1985
  • Outstanding Contribution to Surf Life Saving

For more information, visit: