Mondays Local Mum Steph Luis

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I arrived in Sydney 2000 from New Zealand and it was supposed to be a quick stopover, 17 years on and I’m still here and loving it. I called Randwick and Kingsford home for the most of 10 years and now reside in Chifley.

How many children?

I have two very cheeky daughters Georgia 4yrs & Billie 6yrs and a 10 year old stepdaughter.

Favourite Park?

Chifley Playground on Hastings Ave is where I take the girls to burn some energy, it’s a fantastic space for the children to run, climb, swing, slide and fly (as in flying fox), we’ve also had a number picnics and parties using the undercover tables provided and all this in a secure area. And if they still have energy there’s the sports ground with a bike/scooter path around the ground.

Favourite Beach?

Little Bay is the favourite beach at the moment, the girls can’t manage the bigger waves just yet so Little Bay is perfect for a nice swim and we often head down to Malabar as it’s just down the road from my daughters school.

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

We love popping in to the Crayz Espresso on Bunnerong Rd, Mattraville, it has a relaxed atmosphere and a children’s corner to keep the little ones amused while you can enjoy a bite to eat and relax with a great coffee.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

 I love to stop in at Piccola Baia at Little Bay, they do a strong coffee which I need to keep up with the kids!

Favourite date night place?

It doesn’t happen often but when we get the opportunity to escape we usually head to “The Spot” in Randwick and eat at one of the many great restaurants, at the moment the family is obsessed with Japanese and then we usually catch a movie at the Ritz.

Favourite Local Day Out Activity?

Our girls have a tonne of energy so we try to get them to burn it off at either the scooter park at Heffron Park or play at any one of the beautiful beaches in the east. 

Favourite Local Shop?

We’re a few minutes away from Eastgardens shopping Centre, so if the girls have been well behaved we pop in at the Smiggles shop which they love.

Favourite wet weather location:

We always make the most of staying home on rainy days making crafts, baking cookies and cakes and having laugh with some board games

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

An ideal day for me would be a little sleep in if I’m lucky, brunch at the Lion and Buffalo on Malabar Rd, Sth Coogee, just chilling out with the girls at home by the pool and having a few drinks to relax.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

I would like to get to know a bit more of the Rose Bay, Vaucluse area as I hear it has a great walking track and views of the harbour.

Work or SAHM:

I am a stay at home mum during the week looking after my 4yr old daughter and working on my small business (Happy Camper Sleepover Parties) taking bookings for the weekend parties.

Motherly advice :

Be kind to each other and help other mums out as it can be hard at times, sometimes all mums need is a little chat and a helping hand once in a while.


BOOK a Sleepover Party now and receive $50 off any booking.

Rember to quote at time of booking: Eastern Suburbs Mums (offer expires 28th February 2018)