Eliza Ashe

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

We moved to Randwick almost 12 years ago and we’ve danced between Coogee and Randwick ever since.

How many children:

Two lively, loving boys; Atti, 4, and Iggy, almost 2.

Favourite Park:

We visit Queens Park during the week when it’s not as busy because it’s fenced and has a café. Parenting win right there! We also like to visit Grant Reserve Playground (opposite McIver’s Baths), as there’s plenty for the boys to explore and climb there.  

Favourite Beach:

Bronte Beach. We like to take the boys there for an early morning swim. I love the ocean pool and they love climbing and swimming in the rock pool on the south end. It’s my idea of heaven.  

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

Our youngest isn’t the best café companion at this point so we’ve been avoiding them lately. My boys love the green juices at Orchard St so we usually swing by the Bronte store to stock up on some vegetable goodness before visiting Iggy’s Bakery for a carb fix.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

I try to share the love between a handful of my favourites, mainly Eugene’s at Waverly, A Man and his Monkey (Clovelly Road, Randwick), The Little Kitchen and Café de France, both in Coogee.

Favourite date night place:

We prefer to go Surry Hills or Potts Point way for dinner. I’m a creature of habit so I’d happily book The Apollo each time.  

Favourite Local Day Out Activity:

I never take for granted how lucky we are to have so many beautiful beaches on our doorstep so we pretty much spend all our free time at the beach during
summer.

I love that I can pick my son up from school at 3.30pm and squeeze in a dip in the ocean before dinner. Centennial Park tends to be our second home inthe winter.

Favourite Local Shop:

For the boys I like Kido Store. It’s dangerously close to my house and I have a habit of leaving gift buying to the very last minute so I feel like I spend a lot of time there. Tuchuzy in Bondi is an old favourite.

Favourite wet weather location:

I prefer to leave all the indoor activities, like museum trips to the winter months.

We usually invite friends over for a play date at our place in the morning and once the cabin fever sets in we do the local library circuit. My eldest son is a bookworm and loves returning home with a swag of new reads so it tends to be a weekly exercise during winter. The EQ Markets at Moore Park on a Wednesday and Saturday morning are another easy option.

Describe an ideal day in Sydney’s eastern suburbs for you?

Up early and straight to the beach. We pack morning tea for the boys and then head home around lunchtime for the little’s one nap. I love seeing them exploring the rock pools and playing with their friends in the ocean. We’re happiest when we’re outside and luckily we live in an area that’s made for it.

What area of the east have you yet to explore much but would like to?

We forget to visit the Harbour beaches like Parsley Bay and Nielson Park.

Work or SAHM: I work from home.

I’m a Work From Home Mum.

My background is in magazines and styling and I decided to go freelance before having children which continues to provide me with flexible work opportunities. Some days are crazy busy with deadlines and projects while others can be quite which suits me at the moment.

The last six months I decided to scale back the volume of work I was taking on to allow more time to focus on my new baby For the Young

It’s a limited edition range of 100% GOTS-certified organic cotton bedding for babies. I have grand plans for the range and it’s been a joy putting energy into something that’s my own. I’m so proud of the quality, the designs and the commitment to ethical manufacturing.

eliza-eastern-suburbs-mums

eliza-sydney-eastern-suburbs

Motherly advice:

Surround yourself with good women. Women who will support, encourage, guide and laugh with you. Motherhood is a million times more fun when you have a wonderful network you can lean on.

To order and view For the Young go to  https://fortheyoung.com.au

forever-young-bedding-eastern-suburbs-mums

baby-bedding-eastern-suburbs-mums

FTY-141