Hi, I’m Anna and I have a passion for capturing weddings, families and celebrations. I grew up in Crimea and travelled the world since I was 16 years old studying art and photography in Seattle. Ohio, Kiev and Sydney. My work was published in magazines in Ukraine capturing celebrities for magazine covers. I quickly found myself in advertising for several years and finally found my true passion in capturing what I value the most: family, authentic connection, joy and adventure.

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

I moved to Sydney 8 years ago from Kiev, Ukraine and was lucky enough to call Bronte my first Australian home. I lived in Randwick for 4 years and moved to North Bondi only six months ago.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Sunrises at the beach; strong sense of community; active lifestyle.

How many children?

I’ve got two gorgeous and very active boys 10 and 5 who thankfully adore each other more often than fight each other.

Favourite Park:

I’m never disappointed when I go to Centennial. I take kids there to scoot, cycle, catch up with friends and take my clients for family photos. Every time I think I know the park well enough next moment I discover new picturesque spots. I also love exploring bushy Cooper park and my boys love Newmarket playground.

Favourite Beach: 

I remember I was blown away by Bronte beach when I first saw it from up the top of Macpherson street. It still feels like a magical world to me tucked away in a Bronte gully.

Favourite kid friendly cafe: 

My recent fav is Archies café in Dover heights. It’s out of the way and feels so peaceful; tasty food, great kids area and then we can take a walk to the park.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

So so many – the Depot, Favoloso, Cut lunch deli and 22 grams from the top of my head.

Favourite date night place: 

I’ve been really enjoying food and live music at Da Orazio at Bondi beach. Van bar on Clovelly road is so cosy and inviting for a cheeky cocktail on date nights with no kids.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to ?

I love going for a walk to Malabar National park and was recently told that the Bottle and glass point worth exploring at low tide.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

I was unlucky enough to punctur my tire twice in the last 6 months. Would love to see more of those potholes fixed.

Favourite Local Shop:

I’m not a big shopper to be honest. For clothes I love hand me downs and always give away kids toys, clothes and other things still good to use. We go to local libraries for books and visit local markets to support small businesses and local vendors.

Favourite wet weather location:

Coogee pavilion is normally my go to. Lately I’ve been enjoying hanging out at the newly renovated Bondi pavilion.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

There’s been so many great events and activities going after covid, which is great to see. My family loves visiting the new art gallery of NSW, checking out local markets and keeping an eye on new and exciting things.

Work or SAHM?

I work and thankful to have my job. It is and always will be a struggle to balance with family quality time.

Motherly advice?

I always tell myself to slow down and enjoy every breath, every smile, every hug and even every tantrum my kids throw at me. The grow up so fast! I often rush, get anxious trying to knock off to do list and every time I do that I remind myself to pay attention to what really matters – the unconditional love, patience and connection I have with my family.

You can find me on Instagram https://www.instagram.com/annamurrayphoto/

My website https://www.annamurrayphotography.com.au/