Amy Simon

Each Monday we meet a local eastern suburbs mum to hear about her life in Sydney’s east.

This week meet Amy from Maroubra. 

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east:

My husband and I have been living in Maroubra for almost 4 years now. It was actually the first suburb my husband lived in when he first came to Australia over 10 years ago!

How many children:

We have a 5 month old son, Leonardo. He keeps us laughing and smiling everyday and is the reason we started our online toy store.

Favourite Park:

I’m always looking for ‘pram friendly’ places to take our little one so I can’t go past Centennial Park.  Parking is so easy and I love that you can
always find your own little quiet spot no matter how busy it may be. The rose garden there is also my favourite little stop off – it reminds me of
when my mum grew roses in our garden when I was little.

Favourite Beach:

I love Maroubra Beach but unfortunately I’m a terrible swimmer so Coogee or Malabar are my go to spots for swimming as the waves are more my size!

Favourite kid friendly cafe:

That would have to be Zeebra Cafe on Maroubra Beach. The staff are always so friendly and accommodating and there is plenty of room for prams inside or out.

Favourite Coffee Spot:

I love The Lion and Buffalo in South Coogee. The food is delicious and although it’s small inside, the staff always happily squeeze us and the pram in.

Favourite date night place:

That’s tricky! The last date was so long ago it’s difficult to remember! I would have to say The Spot in Randwick. There are so many great little places to eat and drink and I love the romantic feel of the old cinema.

Favourite Mother’s Group Location:

Up on the hill near Mahon Pool in Maroubra. Close to home, beautiful view and it’s so peaceful…when it’s not too windy!

Favourite Local Shop:

South Maroubra Shopping Village. Again, it’s close to home and they have a fantastic little fruit shop. The pharmacy is also great, even though its small they always have everything I need and are also always involved in community events which I love.

Favourite wet weather location:

Home! Otherwise we head up to East Gardens Westfield for some retail therapy. The fact that it’s free parking makes it that much easier and pleasant.

Work or SAHM:

If I could choose it would be a work from home, stay at home mum but I’m currently working part time, working on our business and a mum 🙂

Motherly advice:

Trust your instincts, go with the flow and don’t ever be afraid or ashamed to ask for help.

When I was pregnant with our little boy I was determined to figure as much out on my own as possible so I intentionally didn’t read heaps of books or attend any classes. I didn’t want to fill my head with how everything ‘should’ be and what is ‘normal’.

I definitely believe it’s helped me be a much calmer mum and so far my son is still alive and happy so I must be doing something right!

To check out Amy’s amazing hand crafted toys go to

SPECIAL OFFER FOR ESM: 20% off for all Eastern Suburbs Mums. ENTER Discount code: ESM20