Hi my name is Lindsay Batstone, i’m originally from Scotland. I moved to Australia for 6 months initially (which is the usual story) then met my beautiful husband at work. We had our little daughter Margot 11 months ago and I imagine with most new mummas, I went on a hunt for fresher fruit and veg to feed the little one. I came across Minifarms and have been working with them since to open a new Bondi pod to serve delicious fresh food to the people of the East. 

Where and how long have you lived in Sydney’s east?

Been in Australia for almost 7 years and lived in either Bondi, Bondi Junction or Tama for about 5 of those.

Three words that describe what it’s like to live in the eastern suburbs?

Full of life

How many children?

One little lady

Favourite Park?

On the coast, my favourite is Marks Park – new playground and incredible views with the odd whale or two. But I’ll always have a love for Centennial. Especially early evening when the cockatoos are going wild and the bats start to venture into the city. 

Favourite Beach?

Tama is a lot of fun and really beautiful. But then there’s Mackenzie’s – she’s quite the tease! It’s always good to pop down to see her when she appears


Favourite kid friendly cafe?

I’m ashamed to say I’ve not explored too many kid cafes since the little one came along – mainly because of lockdown. I’ve read good things about Shuk. We often pack a picnic and head to Centennial. There are a couple of great little cafes up there close to playgrounds.

Favourite Coffee Spot?

M Deli or My Flower Man are trusty locals. They’re just at the end of our street and have a brilliant community going

Favourite date night place?

Bondi Liquor Co. is a great spot for people watching over a cocktail or two.

Where in the east have you yet to explore and would like to ?

Under the sea – still need to shake off the fears and dive into some of the underwater activities.

What would you like to see improve in the eastern suburbs?

I’m looking forward to seeing how the updates to the Bondi Pavilion take shape.

Favourite Local Shop?

Tin Pin bakery has seen us through house renovations, lockdown and every other cheeky pie requirement.

Favourite wet weather location?

I’m the strange Scottish lady you’ll see out walking or running in the rain. Love a bit of weather to add a bit of atmosphere.

Favourite Local family Weekend Activity?

We got into the habit of doing a long walk around the East during lockdown and it’s always a treat to be able to keep that up. Pick a point on the map and walk the long way there (via a delicious cafe for a takeaway).

Work or SAHM?


Motherly advice?

Always have a shower and make the bed in the morning because if nothing else goes right that day, at least you’ll be clean and have something good to look forward to.